

## COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA GENERAL ASSEMBLY

## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 17**

## **Commending The American Legion Auxiliary**

Agreed to by the House of Delegates, January 13, 2020 Agreed to by the Senate, January 16, 2020

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary, one of the worldø largest patriotic service organizations, celebrates its 100th anniversary in 2019; and

WHEREAS, founded on November 10, 1919, The American Legion Auxiliary was established to support the mission of The American Legion and honor the sacrifices of those who served by enhancing the lives of veterans, active-duty military members, and military families, both at home and abroad; and

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary adheres to The American Legion four pillars of care for Veterans, National Security, Americanism, and Children & Youth; and

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary advocates for veterans, provides educational resources, mentors young people, and promotes patriotism, good citizenship, peace, and security; and

WHEREAS, each year, The American Legion Auxiliary membersøvolunteer service of more than 12 million hours is valued at approximately \$1.1 billion; and

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia is active in communities throughout the Commonwealth and promotes The American Legion Auxiliary mission within localities through its generosity, patriotism, and leadership; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Kate Waller Barrett, a physician from Virginia and a charter member of her unit, served as The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia@s first president from 1921 to 1922; and

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia proudly endorsed Dr. Kate Waller Barrett as the second American Legion Auxiliary national president from 1922 to 1923; another Virginian, Peggy Thomas, served as the 93rd national president from 2012 to 2013; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Lisa Chaplin is serving as the 2019 - 2020 president of The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia during the centennial year; and

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia has more than 6,500 members and 141 units; and

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia actively supports all of the veteransøhospitals in Virginia with volunteer representatives at each hospital; and

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia sponsors rising female seniors from high schools throughout the Commonwealth through its marquee program, ALA Virginia Girls State, held at Longwood University in Farmville during the third week in June; and

WHEREAS, having made significant charitable contributions, recorded countless volunteer hours and completed numerous programs and service projects, the members of The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia exemplify the spirit of õService, Not Selfö and never waver in their commitment to honor those who have served the nation and to assist their fellow Virginians; and

WHEREAS, the members of The American Legion Auxiliary are dedicated to upholding the ideals of freedom and democracy while working to make a difference in the lives of fellow Americans; and

WHEREAS, The American Legion Auxiliary will commemorate its centennial with special events throughout 2019 and 2020; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED by the House of Delegates, the Senate concurring, That the General Assembly hereby commend The American Legion Auxiliary on the occasion of its 100th anniversary; and, be it

RESOLVED FURTHER, That the Clerk of the House of Delegates prepare a copy of this resolution for presentation to Dr. Lisa Chaplin, president of The American Legion Auxiliary Department of Virginia, as an expression of the General Assembly admiration for The American Legion Auxiliary legacy of service to the Commonwealth and the United States.

Patrons-- Cox, Adams, L.R., Aird, Avoli, Carr, Cole, J.G., Cole, M.L., Coyner, Davis, Delaney, Fowler, Gilbert, Guzman, Hope, Hurst, Keam, Knight, Kory, LaRock, Leftwich, Lindsey, McNamara, Morefield, Murphy, Orrock, Poindexter, Robinson, Runion, Tran, Walker, Watts, Willett, Wright and Wyatt; Senators: Barker, Chase, Deeds, Edwards, Favola, Howell, McPike, Morrissey, Peake, Reeves, Ruff, Stuart and Surovell

Clerk of the House of Delegates